Bitrix Site Manager

Getting started and authorizing

You manage your site with the use of the administrative section. The administrative section is only accessible by authorized users with sufficient permissions granted (for example, the Administrator). Common site visitors cannot access the administrative section, even if they are properly authorized in the system.

You must authorize before you start working with the administrative section. To do so, do the following.

  1. Open URL http://www.your_site/admin/ in your browser. Your browser will redirect to http://www.your_site/bitrix/admin/. All system files of your site are stored in folder /bitrix/. This name is unique, which guarantees that no other folder with such name will ever exist on the server.
  2. Enter your login and password in the authorization form.


    If you have previously set the option Allow user to remember password in the site settings, the authorization form will show option Remember me. If you check this option, you will no longer need to authorize when you enter the administrative section.
  3. Click the Authorize button.

If the authorization procedure succeeds, you can start managing your site with the administrative section. A site public section will display the site control toolbar on the top of a page: