Bitrix Site Manager

Settings

In this section

  • Module settings form
  • Settings
  • Authorisation
  • Update system
  • Access
  • Controls
  • Service routines
  • Clear cache files
  • Public section
  • The Settings form is used to customize global settings of the system as well as the individual module. It can be accessed by selecting Settings -> System settings -> Module settings -> Main module -> in the left menu of the administration section.

    Settings of other modules are module-dependent and described in the corresponding sections.

    Module settings form

    "Settings" tab

    This form (tab) provides interface for customizing the main parameters of the module.

    Field Description
    E-mail address(es) to receive copies of outgoing mail All e-mail messages sent from the site will be also sent to this address.
    Send e-mail event and template identifiers in messages Each e-mail message will contain information that uniquely identifies it.
    Duplicate e-mail address in header Check this option if messages sent from the site do not contain field TO.
    Site administrator e-mail The address which will be used as the sender address when sending messages.
    Convert newlines from UNIX to Windows format If checked, all new lines will be converted from UNIX to Windows format (CR+LF).
    Convert 8-bit characters in the message header Enable this option if symbols with codes higher than 127 (i.e. 8-bit) are displayed incorrectly in the message header. This will cause such symbols to be encoded using base64.
    Site name The default site name. Can be overridden in the site settings.
    Site URL The site web address (without http://). Can be overridden in the site settings.
    Cookie prefix The string which will be placed at the beginning of the cookie name.
    Default upload folder The folder where all uploaded files (e.g. images) will be stored.
    Send status 200 in header to error 404 If checked, any error request will cause the OK status (202) instead of 404 (Not found).
    Type of menu for zero level of site map The name of the menu type whose items will be used to render the site map nodes.
    Type of menu for other levels of site map The name of the menu type whose items will be used to render the site map branches and leaves.
    Error report mode Defines which errors to display (useful for debugging purposes).
    Spread cookies to all sites Denotes that all domains will use common cookies. Used with the following modules: Statistics (Web Analytics), Advertising, Polls and Surveys, Forums.

    With this option, you can also enable the throughout authorisation on sites controlled by the same system.
    Keep original names of uploaded files If unchecked, files will lose their original names after they are uploaded to the site. Files will have names consisting of random alphanumeric symbols.

    If the option is enabled, folders with the random names will be created; uploaded files will be stored each in a separate folder. This allows to keep the original meaningful filenames, which can be useful for visitors when they want to download a file.
    Replace invalid symbols in names of uploaded files If the Keep original names of uploaded files box is checked, this option will replace all unsafe characters with random Roman letters.

    If this option is disabled, the system will not permit to save files having unsafe characters.
    Default language of administrative section Defines the default language which will be used to display the administrative section.

    "Authorisation" tab

    Field Description
    Allow visitors to self-register If checked, site visitors are allowed to register.
    Add to group upon registration Group that a user will be automatically added upon registration.
    Remember authorisation If checked, a Remember me option will be showed in the authorization form.
    Use secure cookie authorisation Encrypts the identification information before it is stored in cookie.
    Global authentication for all site domains Enabling this option allows the throughout authorisation on all sites running on the same system. This means that, if a user authorises on one site, they will be automatically authorised on all other sites.

    This option requires enabling spread cookies to all sites.
    Use CAPTCHA Specifies that a special mangled text is to be entered at the registration time to prevent unauthorised registrations.

    "System update" tab

    Field Description
    License key License key for this copy of the system.
    Name of system update server Name of the server used to download updates from (bitrixsoft.com).
    Update proxy server The address of the proxy used to access the update server.
    Update proxy port The proxy port.
    Proxy user name The user name for connection to the proxy server.
    Proxy password The proxy server password.
    Check the integrity of update files  If enabled, a checksum will be calculated before the new downloaded files are copied to the destination folder from the intermediate folder (/updates/). If the sample and calculated checksums differ, an error message will display.
    Download only stable updates If checked, only the final releases of updates can be installed. Otherwise, allows to install beta updates.

    "Access" tab

    This tab configures the access permissions of user groups for the module.

    Field Description
    Default Specifies the default permission. This affects all user groups that have the default access permission.
    [User group] Changes the permission of a specific user group. The following access permissions apply to the e-Store module:
    • deny - any access is denied;
    • edit own profile - users can view and edit their profiles;
    • read-only - users can only view files and settings of the module;
    • read; edit own profile - users can only view the module files and edit their own profiles;
    • write - full access.

    Controls

    Button Description
    Save Saves the performed changes.
    Reset Cancels current changes and restores parameters to their original values.
    Restore defaults Resets module settings to their default values.

    Service routines

    Clear cache files

    This form is used to delete cache files containing outdated or error information.

    Field Description
    Expired only Specifies to delete only the expired information.
    All Erases all.

    Click Clear to perform clean-up.

    Public section

    With this form, you can lock your site (for example, during maintenance).

    Click the button to lock or unlock the site public section.